top of page
  • pattyforeman87

Which COVID Health Safety Measures Are Necessary?

Updated: Oct 2, 2021

Opinion: Which COVID Health Safety Measures Are Necessary?


COVID-19 is a topic that is no stranger to controversy. The public is completely divided about its restrictions, whether masking or vaccines should be required, and if it's even a valid concern for schools.


Masking is, according to the CDC, integral to preventing the spread of COVID-19. They serve as a constant reminder to the students of Harding of the pandemic's effect, as Marion City Schools requires them for attendance.


With masks being a part of our everyday lives, we are all pretty familiar with them. We wear them despite the unanimous feeling that it is inconvenient—and frankly, annoying.

I asked the students and staff of Harding for their opinion on COVID-19, masking, and vaccines to answer the question, which COVID health safety measures are necessary?

Those who agreed that COVID is still a concern and masking should be required had fairly consistent answers for why they felt so. One anonymous source, when asked if they believe that COVID is still a concern for schools, stated, "Oh, absolutely. Watch the news. It's obvious. It's a concern for everybody, I think." They continued by saying, "I don't like wearing the mask. I hate that my glasses are always fogged up, but it does, you know, protect the kids from COVID and also from my coffee-breathe. So, I don't like it...but at the end of the day, I get to take it off."


Another source had a like-minded response. "Absolutely, it is," they explained, "Especially with the new strain that just came out not so long ago." Other sources voiced that they felt that schools' responses to COVID are sufficient but that it's the students that have to make those restrictions effective by their compliance.


On the opposite end of the spectrum, those that said that masking should not be required had many reasons for believing as such.


One person expressed that they believed that schools should be less restricting with COVID-19, explaining that "I think that it should be up to the parents on how restricting it should be. I feel like it should be a choice. It involves a person’s health, and I think that the parent is the main person who’s involved in their child’s health, not the school.” Others expressed that they felt that there isn’t as much need for masks as last year. Some also suggested that vaccines should be a choice, not a requirement.


According to Principal Musbach, regarding COVID, “I think that COVID is still a concern for students, families, and communities.” She continued by saying that “...Harding is doing a really good job. I have seen some other stories from other schools who don’t have the same safety measures in place. So, when I say we’re doing a really good job, I’m glad we have the safety measures we have. I’m also really glad we’re able to come back.”


Overall, most agreed that COVID-19 is still a concern. However, how and which restrictions should be enforced to combat this is up for discussion.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page